Eric Kirk Memorial Award

Eric Kirk was a pharmacist with visionary ideas, a capacity to inspire others and the will and know- how to bring those ideas to reality. His work was a major influence on the way pharmacists saw themselves as health care professionals and led them to embrace continuing education and professional development – new concepts in his time. His foresight, drive and leadership brought about the introduction of Ward Pharmacy to WA hospitals which led directly to the development of Clinical Pharmacy practice across the profession.

2017 Eric Kirk Memorial Award winner Pascale Ng Cheon Ting with Dean Schulze

2017 Eric Kirk Memorial Award winner Pascale Ng Cheon Ting with Dean Schulze

“Drug Information Centre” and “therapeutic drug monitoring” were terms which became well known in practice due to Eric’s unrelenting representations which also achieved the profession’s acceptance of the significance of health promotion as a part of pharmacy practice.

In recognition of the outstanding contribution made to the development of professional practice in pharmacy in Western Australia by this former President, the Society provides the Eric Kirk Memorial Award.

This annual award is the Society’s most prestigious recognition of members who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of professional practice.

Eric Kirk Nomination form 2018

Winners of the Erick Kirk Memorial Award

2017                                       Pascale Ng Cheong Tin

2016                                       Professor Rhonda Clifford           

2015                                       Michael Dillon

2014                                       Penelope Tuffin

2013                                       Professor Kevin Batty

2012                                       Deirdre Criddle

2011                                       Michael Cain

2010                                       Gladys Heedes

2009                                       Professor Bruce Sunderland

2008                                       Professor Jeffery Hughes

2007                                       Associate Professor Malcolm Roberts

2006                                       Suzanne Burrows

2005                                       Kevin McAnuff

2004                                       Graham Greenhill  

2003                                       Constantine Berbatis